Hugh Workshop Blog: Day 3 & 4

The past two days of the workshop were rather work-heavy and eventful. We had started on our digital projects in the computer lab and I gotta say, that video editing is more difficult than I thought it would be.

At first, I had trouble with the program available on the university computers, which was Windows Movie Maker. My prior experience in film editing included minor videos on iMovie for language and history classes.

But I persevered and managed to splice video and overlay transitions with audio with at least four minutes of footage. Of course, it isn’t completed yet and I would need edits on the footage and there is a lot of work to be done, but for now, I am proud with what I have so far.

I hope it saves. (crosses fingers and pray to the Lord)

On day 4 of the Boyd Workshop, we’d first visited this historical site in Red Bank, New Jersey and Asbury Park Press at around the same area.

All of the students and I met Roger Mumford, who was the real estate developer involved in the restoration of the T. Thomas Fortune House. T. Thomas Fortune was an influential black journalist who was incredibly progressive for his time. Fortune was born in 1856 and died in 1928 due to a tragic accident.

IMG_5174

Pictured above is the T. Thomas Fortune House located in Red Bank, New Jersey. The restoration project has been approved by the council will start construction in 16 months.

 

 

Anyways, Fortune had set up the first black newspaper called the New York Age, and within this publication, he gave African-Americans a voice. This whole outing was very informative and I had the opportunity to talk to a lot of charismatic individuals about race relations in America and journalism.

Additionally we’d also taken a visit to Asbury Park Press and had dinner with the founder and CEO of Unheard Voices. The former having really good growth in online traffic in central Jersey on the local level and the latter growing an international following.

Touring Asbury and seeing a real life newsroom and production team was enlightening. And here, I was proud of how at my high school newspaper, The Fanscotian, would produce one issue a month and have an effective team of editors and staff writers.

Apparently Asbury has a separate design team for layout, separate layout editors, reporters, photographers, advertisement; and all of this is not for one publication but for numerous publications all around the Atlantic region.

IMG_5180

 

 

All in all, I was impressed and I can see myself completing an internship there at either one of those places. Also, the advice I received from one of the executive editors at Asbury is priceless.

 

Check out the workshop’s official website!

 

Leave a Reply

