Hugh Boyd Workshop Blog: Day 2

websiteby McKella Sylvester

So today was the second day of the 2016 Hugh N. Boyd Journalism Workshop and what we did was continuing our interviews with each other and drafting our stories.

I focused on receiving and applying advice from the assistant director of the program, Melissa McCornick, who gave me a lot of incite on how I should structure my piece and go about connecting it to the central theme of the workshop.

This year’s theme focuses on teens and how they see the world through their eyes. With my topic in mind, it was difficult to relate my article back to the theme. But, with careful guidance and strategic planning, I finally have a clear idea of how my story is going to turn out.

I had also worked on the digital component to the print project as well. I started to search for videos available on YouTube and saving them as potential footage to accompany the written piece. Hopefully the software is available on my laptop to edit movies since I do not want to go through the pain of logging onto the computers in the School of Communication.

Seriously, Rutgers University should make their internet less of a hassle to use. Like, if I wanted a hassle, I would’ve used textbooks and a flash drive.

And to conclude this blog post, today marks the 75th birthday of Emmett Till. Till was a 14 year-old black teen who was killed by three white men after he allegedly flirted with a white woman back in Jim Crow Mississippi. Since my article mentions Till, today’s date, July 25th, is significant.

The political discourse of America is a mess; not exactly my favorite topic, but it is a  topic that needs discussion from both sides of the line. It is unacceptable for apathy to occur when a child was murdered in cold blood because he had more melanin. It is just plain unacceptable that racial violence is the norm in a mixed culture that the United States is known for.

It’s plainly simple, as Americans, we should not accept this. Remember Emmett Till and remember all of the victims of racial violence.

Check out the workshop’s official website!

 

Leave a Reply

